New names at North Sea Jazz 2019

Today, NN North Sea Jazz Festival proudly presents 36 new names.

On Friday July 12 multiple Grammy winner Anita Baker will make her debut at the festival; her performance is part of a farewell tour. On the same day José James will present his Bill Withers project ‘Lean On Me’ with the Noordpool Orkest, and Tower of Power will celebrate the band’s 50th anniversary. On Saturday Macy Gray and Kenny Wayne Shepherd, among others, have been added to the lineup, while Sunday well see performances by Daryl Hall & John Oates and Jacob Collier. Chick Corea will perform his legendary album ‘My Spanish Heart’ with his new eight-piece Latin formation.

More names on Friday: Ben Wendel Seasons Band, Dobet Gnahoré, Dafnis Prieto Big Band featuring the Aarhus Jazz Orchestra, James Brandon Lewis Quintet, Makaya McCraven + special guests, Melissa Aldana Quartet, Nik Bärtsch’s RONIN, RYMDEN (Bugge Wesseltoft, Dan Berglund, Magnus Öström)

Confirmed to perform on Saturday: Arild Andersen Trio: In-House Science, Houston Person, Joey Baron Bram de Looze Robin Verheyen ‘MixMonk’, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Larry Goldings - Peter Bernstein - Bill Stewart, Mahalia, Mokoomba, Ranky Tanky, Samm Henshaw, Shake Stew, Sly5thAve, Tank and the Bangas.

Added to Sunday’s lineup: Arp Frique & Family, Fleurine & Boys from Brazil, Henry Threadgill’s Zooid, Jungle by Night, Maisha, Mayra Andrade, Poppy Ajudha, Stefon Harris & Blackout, The Baylor Project.

See all the acts that have been announced so far on the program page.