First wave of acts for NN North Sea Jazz 2023

Today we announce the first wave of acts for the 46th edition of the NN North Sea Jazz Festival. Lizzo, Stormzy and Tom Jones will make an appearance this year, as well as Buddy Guy, Gabriels, Jacob Banks, Jill Scott, Little Simz, Loyle Carner, The Teskey Brothers, and Van Morrison. There is a strong presence of legendary jazz greats with Jan Garbarek, Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis, and Pat Metheny Side-Eye.

The festival will present special jazz projects, with the likes of Maria Schneider & Oslo Jazz Ensemble presenting 'Data Lords', Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter with special guest Huntertone Horns, Terri Lyne Carrington / New Standards with works by women composers, and the reunion of  Vloeimans Goudsmit Fraanje ‘Fugimundi’.

There will be audience favorites such as Branford Marsalis Quintet, Kenny Garrett Quintet, Marcus Miller, and Stanley Clarke N’4Ever next to jazz heroes whom are seldom to be seen in Holland like Andrew Cyrille Quartet, Fred Hersch/Drew Gress/Joey Baron, Hermeto Pascoal and Kenny Barron Quartet.

As always, the festival program also includes new, up-and-coming artists such as Alabaster DePlume, Anna Webber, Eloise, Fergus McCreadie, Laufey, MonoNeon, Olivia Dean, Samara Joy, Sampa The Great, and Teis Semey among others.

Friday7 July: Alabaster DePlume; Andrew Cyrille Quartet; Bill Frisell FOUR ft. Greg Tardy, Gerald Clayton, and Johnathan Blake; Buddy Guy - Damn Right Farewell; Cha Wa; Fergus McCreadie Trio; Jasper Blom Quartet with Pablo Held; Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis; Kenny Barron Quartet; Kika Sprangers Quintet; Linda May Han Oh; Little Simz; Loyle Carner; Marco Mezquida Trio; Maria Schneider & Oslo Jazz Ensemble presents 'Data Lords'; Mavis Staples; Mette Rasmussen Trio North; MonoNeon; Stormzy; SuperBlue: Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter special guest Huntertones Horns; Terri Lyne Carrington / New Standards; The Teskey Brothers; Van Morrison; Yussef Dayes

Saturday 8 July: Anna Webber Simple Trio; DeWolff & Dawn Brothers present Double Cream; Eloise; Fred Hersch, Drew Gress, Joey Baron; Gard Nilssen's Supersonic Orchestra; Jacob Banks; Jan Garbarek; Jill Scott; Kenny Garrett Quintet; Kokoroko; Lucas Santana 5tet; Marcus Miller; Olivia Dean; The Staples Jr. Singers; Tom Jones; Trondheim Jazz Orchestra & GURLS; Vloeimans Goudsmit Fraanje 'Fugimundi'

Sunday 9 July: Benny Sings; Branford Marsalis Quartet; Cymande; EZRA Collective; Gabriels; Hermeto Pascoal; Kandace Springs; Latanya Alberto; Laufey; Lizzo ; Oded Tzur Quartet ; Pat Metheny Side-Eye; Samara Joy; Sampa The Great; Son Little; Stanley Clarke N’4Ever; Teis Semey Quintet