With this award, the North Sea Jazz organisation wants to highlight talented jazz musicians at the beginning of their career. These artists are already known within the jazz scene, but not yet recognized by a wider audience. Besides a trophy, the winner of the Paul Acket Awards also receives a cheque of 5000 euro, meant to push his career even further.

Below you will find the winners of the Paul Acket Awards and previous Bird Awards.

Paul Acket Awards Winners
2017 - Donny McCaslin
2016 - Cécile McLorin Salvant
2015 - Tigran Hamasyan
2014 - Ambrose Akinmusire
2013 - Anat Cohen
2012 - Craig Taborn
2011 - Arve Henriksen
2010 - Christian Scott, Quincy Jones
2009 - Stefano Bollani, Cees Schrama
2008 - Adam Rogers
2007 - Gianluca Petrella, Dick Bakker
2006 - Han Reiziger, Conrad Herwig

Bird Awards Winners

2005 - Jos Acket, Ben Allison
2004 - Rudy van Gelder, Martijn van Iterson
2003 - Pat Metheny, Rob Madna, Perico Sambeat
2002 - Joe Zawinul, Eric Vloeimans
2001 - Toon Roos
2000 - J.J. Johnson, Michael Moore, Gerry Teekens
1999 - Cecil Taylor, Henk Meutgeert, Dick de Winter
1998 - Max Roach, Hein van de Geyn, Aad Bos
1997 - Clark Terry, Jasper van 't Hof, Greetje Kauffeld
1996 - Ray Brown, Cees Slinger, Pim Jacobs
1995 - Lionel Hampton, Jean 'Toots' Thielemans, Ernst Reijseger
1994 - Ornette Coleman, Pierre Courbois, Dutch Swing College Band
1993 - Sonny Rollins, Hans Dulfer, Paul Acket
1992 - Norman Granz, Michiel de Ruyter, Pete Felleman
1991 - Barry Harris, Rita Reys, Frans Elsen
1990 - Stan Getz, Philip Catherine, Ruud Brink
1989 - Art Blakey, John Surman, Misha Mengelberg
1988 - Dizzy Gilespie, Stephane Grappelli, Willem Breuker
1987 - Benny Carter, Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen, Piet Noordijk
1986 - David Murray, Martial Solal, Rein de Graaff
1985 - Miles Davis, Albert Mangelsdorff, John Engels, Han Bennink

The Paul Acket Award is supported by the BNP Paribas Foundation. This Foundation has been active for over 20 years in developing the careers of jazz musicians, by supporting their recordings and concerts.